06.03 A checklist for spiritual lethargy

Having read about spiritual lethargy, do you think that you are spiritually lethargic?

Quiet time

  • Does my heart long for God’s Word, such that I must set aside time each day to spend reading God’s Word? Or is it a mere routine that I follow for duty’s sake? (Ps 42:1-2)
  • Do I do my quiet time regularly? How much time do I spend on it?
  • Do I just skim through reading God’s word because I feel tired?

Service

  • Do I take time to prepare my heart before going to God’s house? Do I come to church or YF just to fall asleep during service? (Eccl 5:1-2)
  • What do I learn from messages? Can I remember what I’ve learnt after the service or YF has ended?
  • Do I take time to prepare for my duty when my group is chairing?
  • Do I serve reluctantly? (2 Co 9:7)

Relationships

  • Do I lose my temper easily when I talk to my family members? (1 John 4:12)
  • Am I forgiving to the people around me? (Matt 18:21-22)
  • Do I try to share the gospel to my unbelieving friends around me?
  • Do I show a good testimony to the people around me?

(Written by Hadassah Chew)

Leave a Reply

